Our Sorority

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.

Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women.

This includes over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s
Five-Point Programmatic Thrust:
1. Economic Development
2. Physical and Mental Health
3. Educational Development
4. Political Awareness and Involvement
5. International Awareness and Involvement

For more information, visit our national website at www.deltasigmatheta.org

Our Chapter

On June 10, 1979, fifteen spirited members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. chartered the Harford County Alumnae Chapter. Soror Chapelle Armstead, Past Eastern Region Director, conducted the installation ceremony at Magnolia Middle School in Joppa, Maryland.

Our charter members rededicated themselves, developed the Harford County Alumnae Chapter, and began implementing in both Harford and Cecil counties the principles and ideas that were formulated by the Founders of this great sisterhood.

Charter Members

Dorothy W. Strickland*
Lillian B. Gill
Claudia Sconion

Barbara A. Thomas
Stephanie Yvonne Williams
Mildred H. Brown*

Mae Francis Cook
Ernestine C. Mitchell*
Joyce C. Cook

Lucille G. Jennings
Ethel O. Robinson Greene
Harriett Lee Bannister

Pearlie Rigsby Freeman *
Ida Patterson Johnson
Donna E. Lewis

Past Chapter Presidents


1979 – 1981
Pearlie Rigsby Freeman
1981 – 1983
Ernestine C. Mitchell
1983 – 1985
Ethel Reed

1985 – 1986
Ida P. Johnson
1986 – 1989
Ernestine C. Mitchell
1989 – 1990
Deborah V. Lewis

1991 – 1992
Lula Williams
1992 – 1995
Thomasine R. Parsons
1995 – 1997
Denise Tann

1997 – 2001
Lisa B. Irving
2001 – 2003
Carol Bruce
2003 – 2007
LaVerne Pitts

2007 – 2009
Pamela S. Abramson
2009 – 2011
Loretta Martin
2011 – 2013
Carla Walton

2013 – 2015
Lisa B. Irving

Delta D.E.A.R.S


Revered for their knowledge, experiences and values, Delta D.E.A.R.S. is a distinguished group of sorority members who have reached the golden age of 62 years or older. These senior representatives serve as ambassadors of finer womanhood, uncompromising character and honored traditions that shaped America and more specifically, the African American community, and have sustained our illustrious sisterhood, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. The sorority has set aside a unique apprehension within our structure to recognize these Dedicated Energetic Active Respected Sorors. We honor Delta Dears because of their wisdom, grace, and fortitude.

Chapter Officers

President Kira Sconion

President (Interim)

First Vice President Lora Williams

Second Vice President

Recording Secretary HCAC

Corresponding Secretary Raquel Adams

Financial Secretary Carla Walton

Treasurer Quintina Erby

Sergeant-at-Arms HCAC

Chaplain Precilla Belin

Parliamentarian Carol Bruce

Custodian Antoinette Coward
Antoinette Coward

Immediate Past President Lisa B. Irving